Brian Blackstock OCA Archives Award

This recognition award is to be given to a group or an individual who, in the opinion of the OCA Archives Committee, has made an outstanding contribution to the Archives of the Ontario Camps
Association located in Trent University.

Candidates receiving this award may be selected from outside organizations, camps, individuals, groups, committees, etc., and will be recognized in the year following their contribution. This award is not presented on an annual basis, but is offered as a special award when appropriate.

Archives Award Criteria are as follows:

  • A very significant gift of archival value.
  • A financial contribution which allows the Archives to be notably enhanced of wider accessibility to the public.
  • A book of some form of written work which uses OCA archival material and is made available electronically or in print to the public.
  • A film or visual production using archival material which enhances public awareness of the value of camping. Pictures, archival collections, professional articles, research, event outlines, etc.

This award was initiated in 2017 as an acknowledgement of Canada’s 150th Anniversary and as a result of the vision of past OCA President and Honorary Life Member Brian Blackstock.

Award Recipient

Catherine Ross

Catherine has contributed in numerous ways to the camping movement over many years. You can find many of her written works already in the Trent Archies. She is passionate about camping and documenting the changes and growth that have happened over the many years.

Catherine writes ” I have been involved in camping for many years. I started as a camper and continued as a staff member to owning and directing my own camp. Summer camp is my passion.”

Just a few of Catherine’s accomplishments include 

  • Member of the Society of Camp Directors Writing Award Committee.
  • Published three camp histories
    • The Mi-A-Kon-Da Story 2023
    • Camp Tanamakoon – Where We will Never Grow Old 2007
    • Moments, Memory, Magic: The Wenonah Story 2016
  • Published stories of camps in Canada, A Camp Director’s Diary 2020
  • Editor of the Occasional  News, OCA Weekly newsletter 1986-8
  • Member of the OCA Archives Committee
  • Current Adventures include
    • Producing a second Tanamakoon book of alumni stories to celebrate Tanamakoon’s 100th Anniversary in the summer of  2024.
    • Collecting a digital record of OCA Camp COVID stories.

Past Recipients

  • 2019 :  Peter Gilbert; John ‘Jorgi’ Jorgenson
  • 2018 :  Tom Knowlton
  • 2016 :  Bernadine Dodge